Sisterhood Stories – week 4 (KUWAIT)

I bought my first DSLR back on 2008 and we were inseparable! until I decided to started taking a few jobs professionally and that led to a part time job… I then started to take less and less personal photos that is why every year just before the summer vacation I decide to stop and end it all! I’m in love with photography I love taking photos I love editing them, my favorite pass time is browsing through my favorite photography blogs and feast my eyes on different styles of photography from all over the world… I don’t want to lose that love, turning one’s passion into a job does that, but whenever I get back from my vacation and starts getting appointment requests I feel bad to turn people down and take them and that is how the cycle goes on…

Back in the days I took my DSLR into a tour around the old and traditional places in Kuwait and took a few images, below are a few taken of a place called women’s market where women sit on rented benches and sell clothes and makeup for other women to support their families… this place is now renovated and rebuilt in a similar but better shape (I will go there when the weather is cooler to take photos of the new changes) but I don’t like that they are getting rid of our history and in the name of development they are tearing down our old landmarks and adding new malls and buildings in their places, I think this is ignorance and a very sad thing to do for a country we all love and that is why I’m thinking seriously about touring around kuwait capturing all the treasures we still have before it’s all gone and print them in a book to be able to show them to my grandchildren in the future…

This will not be my last post on Kuwait I tend to post as many sides of my country as possible so you could see more of it;)

This Post is part of Sister Stories Project, it’s a blog circle so please follow this link of my talented friend Kate of www.k8tography.com/blog

This Post is part of Sister Stories Project, it’s a blog circle so please follow this link of my talented friend Kate of www.k8tography.com/blog

12 Comments

Filed under Kuwait, Places..., Sisterhood Stories

12 responses to “Sisterhood Stories – week 4 (KUWAIT)

  1. Photography by Gisele Morgan

    enjoying following these stories ♥

  2. Oh, all the beautiful colors. Love the photos.

  3. beautiful colors and the way the brightness of them mixes against the old buildings… so lovely!
    I love your heart for the history of your city, and your idea for the book? Brilliant! I weep at the way we tear down old homes and landmarks for the sake of modern comforts 😦

    • I only wish I had the skills I have today and the knowledge that it’s all going down I would’ve taken more and better images… thank you Jude will send you a copy as soon as it’s done and ready 😉 xx

  4. Jane Packard

    A lovely post Az. History and tradition play an important role in our society and it can be difficult to see change happening around us. That’s the beauty of photography, it enables us to show what once was. Looking forward to seeing more images from your beautiful country.

  5. I love your post and your photos. I also love seeing other parts of the world, and hearing about the culture. Thanks for sharing, and I look forward to your book. That sounds like a great idea!

  6. It.s so sad to see history go down, like this. And it seems to happen everywhere… beautiful post xoxo

  7. Such colour! Love to learn more about your country.

  8. I really enjoyed this post! I love the vivid colors in your photos and found it very interesting to read about Kuwait…a country I know little about but, now can learn more from you. Thank you! xoxo, Kristi

  9. wonderful post and beautiful photos and Kuwait is a place I know very little about so its very interesting to read more about it

Leave a Reply

